Finalization of the PPP presidential candidates: DONG-A ILBO


The People Power Party has shortlisted four final candidates for the upcoming presidential election – former Attorney General Yoon Seok-youl, Representative Hong Joon-pyo, former lawmaker Yoo Seung-min and former Governor of Jeju Won Hee-ryong. The four candidates will compete in a race for 28 days until the final decision is made on November 5.

Chairman Chung Hong-won of the PPP Election Commission announced the results of the 2nd primary on Friday, saying public anger and desperation are only escalating as irregularities and self-righteousness prevail, as shown the example of the Hwacheon Daeyu scandal, asking the four candidates to provide solutions. The PPP did not disclose the rankings and the number of votes under the Public Official Election Act. The 2nd primary “cut” is based on the votes of responsible party members and opinion polls by three to seven.

Right after the party’s announcement, two leaders – Yoon and Hong – confidently declared that a landslide victory was theirs, only adding more heat to an already heated battle of nerves. Meanwhile, the other four candidates failed to continue their race – Choi Jae-hyung, former chairman of the Korea Audit and Inspection Board who drew attention when he left office in June to run for president, former United Future Party chairman Hwang Kyo-ahn, representative Ha Tae-kyung and former mayor of Incheon Ahn Sang-soo.

Starting Monday, the PPP will organize a debate tour in seven regions and three one-to-one presidential debates. Following party member votes and opinion polls from November 1-4, the main opposition party will reflect the results by five to five to determine who will represent the party in the presidential election.

Kyung-Suk Kang [email protected]


Previous One year after jobs crisis, students find boom
Next Food Banks in Silicon Valley Are Under Pressure Amid Growing Logistics Needs of Poverty