The Delta Record | Commission certifies 2022 primary election results

BUCKHANNON – The Upshur County Commission held its meeting at the Upshur County Courthouse Annex on Thursday, May 26 at 9 a.m. Among the items on the agenda was certification of the 2022 primary election results for all state and federal contests.

Around 9:15 a.m., it was time to review the certification. Upshur County Clerk Carol Smith noted, “Nothing had changed and everything was fine.” At that time, Commissioner Samuel Nolte presented a motion of approval, which was seconded by Commissioner Terry Cutright. With the motion and the second, Commission Chair Kristie Tenney confirmed that all was in favor and the motion passed.

Other agenda items that were approved included: approval and signing of letter of support for the Town of Buckhannon Transportation Alternatives grant application for the sidewalk and illumination of Morton Avenue and North Locust Street, reviewing and signing correspondence from Jonathan Vickers, Assistant Director, Chief Inspector’s Division of the Office of the State Auditor of W. Va. confirming the services to be provided to the Upshur County Commission for the fiscal year ending Wednesday, June 30, 2021. The fee for audit services will be $37,860.

The Commission approved the adoption of the Grants Budget Management Policy and it was noted that the policy was reviewed and approved by the Policy Board at its meeting on Wednesday 19 May and is required to comply with grant requirements. The Commission also approved the review and signature of the W. Va. risk pool cover sheet. Communities to Member Agreement. Total annual dues, including workers’ compensation, are $192,621.

The commission approved correspondence from Brian Elmore, notifying his resignation from the Upshur County Fire Board effective Wednesday, May 19. In addition, the commission approved the Upshur County Development Authority resolution passed Thursday, May 13, requesting the appointment of: Bobby Gompers, Bob Skinner, Aaron Harris, Greg Hadjis and Arria Hines to the Board of Directors of the UCDA and upon approval, terms will begin Thursday, July 1 and expire Monday, June 30, 2025, and Dr. James Moore for the unexpired post of Joel Thierstein of West Virginia Wesleyan College whose term expires Sunday, June 30, 2024.

Approval was also made on the “request for tenders” and minimum vehicle specifications for a new half-ton truck for the Lewis-Upshur Community Corrections Program. Sealed proposals must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, June 22 at the Administrative Annex located at 91 Main Street West, Suite 101. Proposals received by the deadline will be publicly opened, reviewed and read aloud by the Commission at 9 a.m.: 3 p.m. on Thursday, June 23. There was also approval for the hiring of additional Buckhannon-Upshur Recreation Park staff effective Friday, May 27.

Items filed included correspondence from the Upshur County Firefighters Association requesting a commission appointment to the newly created committee to address the multiple critical issues facing local fire departments and help determine viable solutions. The committee will be composed of two private citizens; two company representatives; and two elected, one from the Upshur County Commission and the other from Buckhannon Town Council. This was filed on Thursday, April 21.

The next regular meeting of the Upshur County Commission will be held Thursday, June 2 at 9 a.m. at the Upshur County Courthouse Annex. The committee meeting scheduled for Thursday, June 9 has been cancelled.

Previous Can Sanzooz Finance become an established crypto like Ethereum & Decentraland?
Next Gold Coast construction company Pivotal Homes collapses and lays off all staff