Valley News – In Vermont’s election season with historic turnover, some statewide races will see little competition

In an election cycle where Vermonters will elect a historic number of new statewide office holders, some primary races will see remarkably little competition in August, while others will be heated.

Thursday marked the Office of the Secretary of State’s filing deadline for primary candidates. In two open races for attorney general and secretary of state, perennial nominee H. Brooke Paige is the only Republican candidate vying for the party’s nomination.

And Democrats won’t see primaries for their party’s gubernatorial nominations, or for state treasurer.

The race for treasurers is particularly empty. Former Financial Regulation Commissioner Mike Pieciak will run unopposed in the Democratic primary, as will Don Schramm for the Progressive Party. Schramm’s candidacy has yet to be certified by the Secretary of State’s office.

For the Republican nomination, Paige will compete with financial analyst Kevin Divney. A political newcomer, Divney declared his candidacy under the wire Thursday, but has the support of Vermont GOP Chairman Paul Dame.

Charity Clark, former chief of staff for Attorney General TJ Donovan, and Washington County District Attorney Rory Thibault will face off in the Democratic primary for attorney general.

Paige is unopposed for the Republican nomination, as is Elijah Bergman (uncertified) for the Progressive.

Rep. Sarah Copeland Hanzas, D-Bradford, Montpelier City Clerk John Odum and Deputy Secretary of State Chris Winters will be vying for the Democratic nomination for secretary of state.

On the Republican side, only Paige declared herself, and Robert Millar is the only progressive who declared himself (not certified).

The open race for lieutenant governor is packed. Although the position is largely ceremonial, it is considered a statewide stepping stone to higher office. Rep. Charlie Kimbell, D-Woodstock, nonprofit leader Patricia Preston, former lawmaker Kitty Toll and former Lt. Gov. David Zuckerman are expected to run for the Democratic nomination. None of their candidacies were certified Thursday night.

Sen. Joe Benning, R-Caledonia, and Gregory Thayer will be running for the Republican nomination. Cindy Weed is alone in her bid for the Progressive (uncertified) nomination.

Republican Gov. Phil Scott is one of only two statewide officeholders who intends to run for office. Two challengers stood for the party nomination: Stephen Bellows (whose candidacy is not yet certified by the Secretary of State’s office) and Peter Duval of Underhill.

Across the aisle, activist Brenda Siegel faces no Democratic primary opponent. Susan Hatch Davis (uncertified) will appear on the Progressive Governor’s Primary ballot.

Listener Doug Hoffer is unopposed in his Democratic primary bid to retain his seat. Paige is the only Republican to declare her candidacy for the role, and Marielle Blais (uncertified) is the only progressive.

Vermonters have known for months that Sen. Becca Balint, D-Windham, former Congresswoman Sianay Chase Clifford, Lt. Gov. Molly Gray and physician Louis Meyers would face off in the Democratic primary for the State House. -United. (State Sen. Kesha Ram Hinsdale, D-Chittenden, was in the running but ended her campaign on Friday.)

What voters may not have known is that Liam Madden – a self-identified independent whose website says “the two-party system prevents us from solving our problems” – filed his (uncertified) petition for appear on the Republican ballot for the United States House. .

Ericka Redic, host of a conservative internet talk show, and Anya Tynio of Charleston will also compete against Madden in the U.S. House Republican primary. Barbara Nolfi is unopposed for the Progressive (uncertified) nomination.

For the open race for U.S. Senate from Vermont, U.S. Rep. Peter Welch, D-Vt., will compete with Isaac Evans-Frantz of Brattleboro and Niki Thran of Warren for the Democratic nomination.

Former US Attorney Christina Nolan, Gerald Malloy of Weathersfield and Myers Mermel of Manchester are vying for the Republican nomination. Martha Abbott (uncertified) is unopposed in her bid for the progressive nomination.

Previous 'Exhausted' medical students in England struggle to qualify amid financial hardship | NHS
Next IMF Team Begins Virtual Annual Article IV Consultation with Romania